The county of Vila Real de Santo António  (app. 19,500 inhabitants) encompasses the 3 communities Vila Real de Santo António, Monte Gordo and Vila Nova de Cacela.

The territory of the county consists of 2 parts which are not conjoined.

The municipalities Vila Real (including the county seat) and Monte Gordo are located in the southeast of the Algarve and bordering in the east to the Rio Guadiana, in the south to the Atlantic and in the west and north to the district of Castro Marim. The municipality of Vila Nova de Cacela is separated from the core area by a 3 km wide headland of the county of Castro Marim and adjoins Tavira County in the west.

Address of the administration:
Câmara Municipal de Vila Real de Santo António · Praça Marquês de Pombal ·
8900-231 Vila Real de Santo António